Which pathway to choose for TRA Skill Assessment?

Trades Recognition Australia (TRA) is a service provider for skills assessment. TRA specialises assessments for the purpose of migration and acknowledging skills for people with trade skills gained outside or in Australia.

Here are three options for migrants to access detailed program information:

  1. Skills assessment for Temporary Skill Shortage

    TSS skills assessment program is for applicant who applies for Temporary Skill Shortage (TSS) visa, who work in a nominated occupation and hold a passport from a nominated country and applicant who are required by the Department of Home Affairs (Home Affairs) to have a skills assessment for temporary migration.

  2. Skills Assessment for Off-shore

    Offshore Skills Assessment Program (OSAP) determines if an applicant is able to work in Australia at the required skill level for the nominated occupation, it is to ensure successful applicants can contribute immediately to Australia’s skilled workforce. OSAP is for applicants who applies a visa for a skilled migration except for 485 or TSS visas that work in a nominated occupation and hold a passport from a nominated country or Special Administrative Regions (SARs).

    Applicants who seek skills assessment in a nominated occupation and nominated country or SAR are required to have an assessment through the OSAP. It is also open to applicants from all countries who wish to undertake a skills assessment in a nominated occupation that can travel to Australia or a nominated country for an assessment.

  3. Skills Assessment for Migration

    The Migration Skills Assessment Program (MSA) is for applicants who apply for a permanent skilled migration visa in occupations and countries not covered by Registered Training Organisations (RTO) approved by Trades Recognition Australia (TRA). Migration skills assessment is a skills assessment of qualification/s and employment history that is a paper based to determine comparability with Australian standards for a skilled worker in the nominated occupation.

TRA Skills Assessment Programmes important changes

All applicants applying for a skills assessment are required by TRA in one of the following licensed occupations:

  • Air-conditioning Refrigeration Mechanic
  • Electrician (General), Electrician (Special Class)
  • Plumber (General)

All of the above occupations must be assessed by a TRA-approved RTO through the OSAP.

In addition, TRA may request photos and videos of the applicant performing the work in the nominated occupation.

Reference: https://www.tradesrecognitionaustralia.gov.au/programs-migration-skills-assessment/guidelines